You are required to complete the assessment outlined below and submit your completed final document through the RKC Online Campus by the end of Unit 6. Your grade will be based 100% on this final document, to which you will also receive written feedback.
2. In addition you must upload part of your draft of the above document by the end of Unit 3 (see Interim Assignment, at the bottom of the fourth page). This draft will not be graded, but it is an important way for you to monitor your progress and understanding, and you will receive feedback with respect to the topic(s) covered in the interim assignment.
3. Please ask any questions about the interim assignment or final assessment in the Forum.
You have been asked by your 60 year old uncle Xavier to help him assess a new venture. It is Friday night, and he needs the work finished by Sunday, in preparation for an early Monday morning meeting, so you know that he will not be able to give you any more information than he already has (and you will be unable to contact him over the weekend), and therefore you may need to rely on your own assumptions and estimates for some of the analysis.
Xavier lives in Geneva in Switzerland, and recently took early retirement from a pharmaceutical company he joined 25 years ago, leaving the company with a lump sum (after tax) payment of SFr 570,000. Surprisingly, rather than being depressed by his new state of independence, he is tired of the corporate life and excitedly contemplating a new career as a retailer of Australian opals. He is confident that he can set up a business to import the products from Australia and sell them in Europe. His wife, who he met at business school, is pleased with his passion for this possible new venture, but concerned that it might turn into a financial disaster. She has suggested that he develop a detailed financial plan to evaluate the venture and its viability.
After a couple of hours with Xavier you have assembled the following information from him: - OzJewels (owned by a business school roommate of Xavier), an established supplier of Australian Opals located close to Rockhampton in Central Queensland, is prepared to give him exclusive rights to sell their products in Switzerland for a five year period in exchange for an upfront payment for those rights; - The opals sell in Australia for an average of AUD 150 (AUD = Australian Dollars) a piece and OzJewels is prepared to sell them to Xavier at a 40% discount to this price; - OzJewels would ship to Xavier on receipt of payment for each order; - Xavier has found out that air freight from OzJewels via courier would cost on average AUD 35 per opal, and that the time from him placing an order to receiving the goods in Geneva would be three weeks (including the preparation and packing time in Australia); - Xavier plans to order from OzJewels monthly and intends to maintain a minimum stock of four weeks’ worth of sales to ensure that he will be able to supply a suitable range of opals to customers; - He will buy racking and a special safe costing CHF 3,500 to store the jewels, and has found a small office nearby that he can rent for CHF 750 per month, payable monthly in advance, plus a security deposit of three month’s rent (refundable in full if there is no damage to the premises); - Xavier will sell the opals by internet only, and is planning to spend CHF 7,500 with a website designer to develop the site; - He has already spent CHF 8,500 on a market study that told him that once established, demand would be about 250 opals per month, although in the first year sales would start at only 30 in the first month before building up slowly to the full level at the end of the first year; - The above study assumed an average selling price in Switzerland of CHF 170 per opal (ignore any impact of sales taxes in your calculations); - Packaging and shipping within Switzerland would average CHF 17 per opal, and Xavier is not currently intending to charge that to the customer; - All internet sales would be by credit card, with the credit card company taking 1.5% per sale and remitting the monthly total to Xavier one week after the end of each calendar month; - He believes that one person could run the operation part time at a total monthly cost (including employer’s social charges) of CHF 4,700; - Xavier believes that if necessary he could borrow up to an additional CHF 70,000 at 4% p.a.; - Xavier’s marginal tax rate on investment or earned income is 30%, payable one year in arrears; he has also told you that he can invest any available cash at an after-tax 2% per annum.
The market research study told Xavier that the market appears to be highly price sensitive. For example, if the selling price was reduced by 20% then the base case volume would increase by 25%, whereas an increase in the base price of 20% would lead to a reduction in the base case opal volume of 50%. Xavier is unsure how to interpret that data and has asked for your advice and recommendations on pricing, using those examples only.
Xavier remembers lectures on discounted cash flow analysis at business school (although he admits that he did not fully understand them, unlike his wife who was a distinction student). He has asked you to prepare an analysis while he is away to help him with the decision, making clear any assumptions that you make; the analysis should not exceed a total of 25 pages (everything included), and should include:
- A summary of all assumptions and estimates that you have made for your analysis, including justifications where appropriate; - A break even analysis; - A Profit and Loss Statement for the first year of operations and Balance Sheet at the end of the first year; - Monthly cash flow for the first year of operation; - Annual Cash Flow Statement thereafter; - A clear explanation, in plain English, of how much cash the venture will need to get started; - Any sensitivity analysis that you think would be helpful, including the described issue of increasing or reducing prices; - The most that Xavier could offer OzJewels as an upfront fee for the exclusive rights for the five year period (which would not include any opals) which would leave him no better or worse off than if he had not undertaken the venture, and the actual amount you suggest he should offer; - Conclusions and Recommendations; - A critical reflection of the analysis that Xavier has asked you to prepare – what, if anything, would you do differently in a financial analysis of this opportunity, and why?
Xavier has explained that he is going to be out of town for a wedding so will be unable to provide any assistance at all, but as he pointed out before leaving “you will find this easy with computers and the internet to help”.
Your report should demonstrate skills of critical reflection, effective communication and balanced judgement; note that this is not a market report. Scripts that are excessively long (i.e. exceeding the page limit by more than 10%) will not be read beyond the point of the limit; there is no minimum word limit. Do not put your name on the paper.
The overall structure should be as follows:
1. Cover Page (1 page) 2. Table of Contents/List of Exhibits (1 page) 3. Executive Summary 4. Main Report 5. Appendices (if any) 6. List of references.
The data in your answer should be clearly laid out in tabular format so that your approach and answer are both plainly evident.
Submissions should be machine readable and submitted in MS-Word format only; submit only one file, and include any Excel analysis as images inside the submission document, not embedded files.
Grading will be based on the following breakdown:
- Assumptions, estimates and sensitivity analysis: 20% - Cash flow and DCF analysis: 20% - Other financial details (break even, balance sheet, etc): 30% - Critical reflection: 20% - Referencing and presentation: 10%
The Interim Assignment is to develop a Profit and Loss Statement for the first year of operations only which you will see is part of the required content of your final assessment paper. You should clearly explain any assumptions in this P&L Statement and you may, if you wish, make any changes to your interim P&L Statement for your Unit 6 f
Consider the M/G/1 model.(a) Compare the expected waiting time in the queue if the servicetime distribution is (i) exponential, (ii) constant, (iii) Erlang with the amoun...Aug 06 2020
Describe the political risk, economic risk, and legal risk in doing business in a foreign country.Jun 07 2020
There are three car rental companies, with rates given below: Company A $100 plus $.1 per mile Company B $75 plus $.17 per mile Company C 50$ plus $.25 per mile You w...Aug 01 2020
The manufacturing costs of Alex Industries for the first three months of the year follow:Using the high-low method, determine the variable cost per unitMay 12 2021
Prior to liquidating their partnership, Wakefield and Barns had capital accounts of $105,000 and $55,000, respectively. The partnership assets were sold for $40,000. The ...May 04 2021
Indicate your research question at the top of your annotated bibliography, just below the title. What to do Following the explanation in the videos posted in class, creat...Mar 21 2020
A researcher wishes to estimate the proportion of college students who cheat on exams. A poll of 450 college students showed that 15% of them had, or intended to, cheat e...Apr 21 2020
Briefly explain the difference between external and internal economies of scale. Why is it that if an industry is operating under conditions of internal scale economies t...Apr 17 2020
The revenues and expenses of Chickadee Travel Service for the year ended April 30, 2019, follow:Fees earned $263,200Miscellaneous expense 12.950O...Apr 09 2021
If the nominal exchange rate goes from 100 to 120 yen per dollar, has the dollar appreciated or depreciated?Jul 19 2021