Lemon Auto Wholesalers had sales of $1,180,000 last year, and cost of goods sold represented 73 percent of sales. Selling and administrative expenses were 13 percent of sales. Depreciation expense was $12,000 and interest expense for the year was $13,000. The firm’s tax rate is 30 percent.
a. Compute earnings after taxes.
b-1. Assume the firm hires Ms. Carr, an efficiency expert, as a consultant. She suggests that by increasing selling and administrative expenses to 15 percent of sales, sales can be increased to $1,230,100. The extra sales effort will also reduce cost of goods sold to 69 percent of sales. (There will be a larger markup in prices as a result of more aggressive selling.) Depreciation expense will remain at $12,000. However, more automobiles will have to be carried in inventory to satisfy customers, and interest expense will go up to $20,900. The firm’s tax rate will remain at 30 percent. Compute revised earnings after taxes based on Ms. Carr’s suggestions for Lemon Auto Wholesalers. (Round taxes and earnings after taxes to 1 decimal place.)
b-2. Will her ideas increase or decrease profitability?
Define management information systems. What are the key elements of its definition?54) Explain the management and use of information systems.55) What are the points that ...Dec 23 2019
data set 24 in appendix b includes a sample of FICO credit rating scores from randomly selected consumers. If we investigate this sample by constructing a histogram and f...Apr 08 2020
A particular thermal system involves three objects of fixed shape with conduction resistances of R1 = 1 K/W, R2 = 2 K/W and R3 = 4 K/W, respectively. An objective is to m...Jun 28 2020
problem 10.2For the two-noded one-dimensional isoparametric element shown in Figure P10–2 (a) and (b), with shape functions given by Eq. (10.1.5), determine (a) intrinsic...Aug 01 2020
What purpose does an employee handbook serve? When writing a handbook, what does management need to be careful about? What contractual role can a handbook play?129) What ...Dec 12 2019
A sample of 300 orders for takeout food at a local pizzeria foundthat the average cost of anorder was $23 with s=$15.a)Find the margin of error for this result if you wan...Apr 11 2020
After recently graduating from college, you have decided to start a new business. You and several of your friends have decided to sell customized jewelry to wholesalers a...Aug 28 2020
How to calculate arc length in calculus?Jun 16 2021
An ogee spillway of a gravity dam is to be modeled using water. The spillway section is 40 feet high, its crest length is 60 feet and the maximum discharge is 3,000 CFS w...Jul 10 2020
stion 19 yet wered rked out of Al Khaleej Inc. needs 325 kgs of a material per month. It costs RO 100 to make and receive an order, and it takes 16 workdays to receive it...Apr 30 2021