If a firm in a competitive industry is making no profit but still producing, it must be the
a. MC = MR > ATC
b. MC = MR
c. MC = ATC > MR
d. MC = MR = ATC
e. this situation is not possible
122. Which of the following statements is false?
a. Profit is increasing when marginal revenue is greater than marginal cost.
b. Marginal cost is always decreasing.
c. Marginal and average total costs are equal at the most efficient production level.
d. The AFC and AVC curves cross.
e. The AFC and ATC curves do not cross.
123. The Bumpy Ride Suspension company makes springs for bicycle seats. Currently the
springs sell for $5 each. Being profit maximizers, the company makes just enough
springs so that the marginal cost of the last spring produced is $5. Their average total cost
at that output is $3.50. If they currently produce 1,000 springs and the market price falls
by $1, approximately how much profit will be lost?
a. all of the profit will be lost
b. profit will fall by $1 per spring
c. there will be no loss of profit
d. more than $1,000 but less than $1,500
e. less than $1,000
124. Wild Woman’s Wild Wilderness Adventures sells 1,000 vacation packages each year.
The average total cost of the packages is $450 and each package sells for $770. Annual
e. $3.2 million
125. Entrepreneurs operate in which spheres of economic life?
a. c and e
b. education and training
126. Suppose an entrepreneur commits to a production schedule but underestimates the market
price for his products. What will be true about his current level of production?
a. Losses will be very high.
b. Marginal cost will be less than marginal revenue.
c. Marginal cost will be more than marginal revenue.
d. Average total cost will exceed price.
e. Total fixed costs will be too low.
127. Suppose an entrepreneur commits to a production schedule but overestimates the market
price for her products. Which situation is not possible?
a. Price equals average total cost.
b. Losses are greater than if she shut down.
c. Total profit is positive.
d. Average variable cost is greater than marginal cost.
e. Total profit is zero.
128. A fishing boat owner sells her entire catch of 8,000 fish and maximizes profit that is
equal to $4,000. Suppose fish prices increase and you are asked to calculate her profit
knowing that she now sells 10,000 fish. If fish prices increased by $1 per fish, what do
you need to know to calculate her new profit level?
a. average fixed cost
b. average variable cost
c. change in average total cost
d. marginal cost
e. average total cost
129. A fishing boat owner sells her entire catch of 8,000 fish and maximizes profit that is
equal to $4,000. Suppose fish prices increase and she now sells 10,000 fish. If fish prices
increased by $1 per fish, what do you need to know to calculate her new average total
a. average fixed cost
b. change in average variable cost
c. change in total variable cost
d. how many fish she catches
e. how much profit is made
130. A fishing boat owner sells her entire catch of 20,000 fish and maximizes profit that is
equal to $7,000. Suppose fish prices increase and you are asked to calculate her profit
knowing that she now sells 30,000 fish. If fish prices increased by $3 per fish, what can
you say about her new profit level?
a. profit > $90,000
d. profit > $67,000
e. profit > $10,500
Two steel plates of 12 3 220-mm rectangular cross section are welded to the W250 3 58 beam as shown. Determine t he largest allowable vertical shear if the shearing stres...Jun 23 2020
John (age 59 and single) has earned income of $4,200. He has $36,700 of unearned (capital gain) income.a.If he does not participate in an employer-sponsored plan, what is...May 09 2020
I-Butanol and chlorobenzene form a minimum-boiling azeotropic system. The mole fraction of I-butanol in the liquid (x) and vapour (y) phases at 1.000 atm is given below f...Jun 08 2020
After completing instruction 1, enter the unadjusted trial balance for Surf Suds Laundry on an end-of-period spreadsheet (work sheet) and complete the spreadsheet. Add th...Apr 16 2020
Presented below are the monthly factory overhead cost budget (at normal capacity of 5,000 units or 20,000 direct labor hours) and the production and cost data for a month...Jun 24 2020
Other things remaining the same, if the contribution margin for a one year project of a firm increases from Rs.200 lakh to Rs.300 lakh, what will be its impact on the NPV...Jan 01 2018
Slattkey Sweets proposes to re-launch one of its mature brands, the Zubirot Bar. The brand manager has identified the tasks involved and produced the following informatio...Jul 23 2020
You have been asked to advise Kimeu on the appropriate accounting treatment for the following situations arising in the books of various companies. The year end in each c...May 22 2020
Based on your calculations for questions 1–6, determine the total demand in VA for this residence, the minimum service size, and the minimum conductor sizes (THW) for the...Jun 03 2020
Object 1 with a characteristic length of 0.5 m is placed in airflow at 1 atm and 20°C with free stream velocity of 50 m/s. The heat flux transfer from object 1 when place...Jul 20 2020
Welcome to MyCourseHelp Services, World's leading Academic solutions provider with Millions of Happy Students.