Zan Azlett and Angela Zesiger have joined forces to start A&Z Lettuce Products, a processor of packaged shredded lettuce for institutional use. Zan has years of food processing experience, and Angela has extensive commercial food preparation experience. The process will consist of opening crates of lettuce and then sorting, washing, slicing, preserving, and finally packaging the prepared lettuce. Together, with help from vendors, they think they can adequately estimate demand, fixed costs, revenues, and variable cost per 5-pound bag of lettuce. They think a largely manual process will have monthly fixed costs of $37,500 and variable costs of $1.75 per bag. A more mechanized process will have fixed costs of $75,000 per month with variable costs of $1.25 per 5-pound bag. They expect to sell the shredded lettuce for $2.50 per 5-pound bag.
a) What is the break-even quantity for the manual process?
b) What is the revenue at the break-even quantity for the manual process?
c) What is the break-even quantity for the mechanized process?
d) What is the revenue at the break-even quantity for the mechanized process?
e) What is the monthly profit or loss of the manual process if they expect to sell 60,000 bags of lettuce per month?
f) What is the monthly profit or loss of the mechanized process if they expect to sell 60,000 bags of lettuce per month?
g) At what quantity would Zan and Angela be indifferent to the process selected?
h) Over what range of demand would the manual process be preferred over the mechanized process? Over what range of demand would the mechanized process be preferred over the manual process?
A fraction p = 0.05 of the items coming off of a production process are defective. The output of the process is sampled, one by one, in a random manner. What is the proba...Aug 04 2020
6.27(Celsius andFahrenheit Temperatures) Implement the following integerfunctions:Function celsius returns the Celsiusequivalent of a Fahrenheit temperature.Function fahr...May 27 2020
A key metric in the cell phone industry is average revenue per user (ARPU) which represents the average dollar amount that a customer spends per store visit. In 2011, AT&...Apr 19 2020
Week 4 “In-Class Problems” Please complete these problems using formulas, Microsoft Excel, a financial/basic calculator, or a combination of all three. If you choose to...Mar 24 2020
Income Tax AccountingThe Affordable Care Act (LO 6.4)Susan and Stan Collins live in Iowa, are married and have two children ages 6 and 10. In 2016, Susan's income is ...Dec 04 2019
A stock recently increased in price from $32 to $45. Using ϕ, what are the primary and secondary support areas for the stock? >May 19 2020
Planning activities: A. Are the means organizations must use to pay for resources.B. Involve the acquiring and disposing of resources that an organization uses to acquire...Jan 28 2020
The probability distribution of the random variable X represents the number of hits a baseball player obtained in a game for the 2012 baseball season. The probability dis...Aug 01 2020
Assume that the price is $165 and the fixed costs are $125, at an output level of 1. Also assume that the data represents a firm in pure competition. Show your calculatio...May 01 2020
A company purchased a weaving machine for $290,320. The machinehas a useful life of 8 years and a residual value of $16,000. It isestimated that the machine could produce...Apr 08 2020
Welcome to MyCourseHelp Services, World's leading Academic solutions provider with Millions of Happy Students.