As the exclusive carrier on a local air route, a regional airline must determine the number of flights it will provide per week and the fare it will charge. Taking into account operating and fuel costs, airport charges, and so on, the estimated cost per flight is $2,000. It expects
to fly full flights (100 passengers), so its marginal cost on a per passenger basis is $20. Finally, the airline’s estimated demand curve is P = 120 - .1Q, where P is the fare in dollars and Q is the number of passengers per week.
What is the airline’s profit-maximizing fare? How many passengers does it carry per week, using how many flights? What is its weekly profit?
Suppose the airline is offered $4,000 per week to haul freight along the route for a local firm. This will mean replacing one of the weekly passenger flights with a freight flight (at the same operating cost). Should the airline carry freight for the local firm? Explain.
What is the difference between FCFE and FCFF? Are those essentially the same thing? What are the different components in each?Nov 23 2019
A trader is considering purchasing one share of stock and writing two at the money call options. The current price of the stock is $50 and the price of the call is $4. Cr...May 27 2021
Project Z has an initial outlay of $19,000 and generates positive cash flows in years 1, 2, 3 and 4 of $2,096, $2,841, $4,114, and $2,571 respectively. Using a discount r...May 10 2021
A politician is urging tighter restrictions on drivers' licenses issued to teens. He claims that “in one of every five auto accidents a teenager is behind the wheel.”...Apr 16 2020
Question 28 Not yet answered A certain type of computer costs RO 1,000, and the annual holding cost is 30% of the value of the item. Annual demand is 12,000 units, and th...Apr 30 2021
Use Table 1, which shows Ben’s utility, to work Problems 3 and 4.3. Calculate the values of A, B, C, and D in the table. Does the principle of diminishing marginal utilit...Jun 03 2020
20 (x-4) The interval of convergence for the series 2n=1 is [3,5) n ut of Select one: O True O False uestionApr 26 2021
If you had two independent projects with the following cash flows and a discount rate of 11.0%, which project(s), if any, would you take?Time Project A Cash Flows Project...Aug 19 2020
Javier and Anita Sanchez purchased a home on January 1 of year 1 for $500,000 by paying $50,000 down and borrowing the remaining $450,000 with a 7 percent loan secured by...Dec 04 2019
Yearly salaries paid to the salespeople employed by a certain company are normally distributed with mean $27,000 and standard deviation $4900. What is the probability tha...Aug 03 2020